Using precompiled lib and header files in MSVS 2008

Compilation and installation of DCMTK

Moderator: Moderator Team

Silvermaul

Using precompiled lib and header files in MSVS 2008

#1 Post by Silvermaul »

Hello all,

I am new to DICOM and to this forum. Though I have tried to solve my problem by readinng the install directions and the faq, unfortunately I have been unsuccesful and I have to resort to writing yet another "how to use dcmtk" thread.

I have been provided with the .lib and header files of version 3.5.4 for win32 environment. For my simple case I am trying to simply compile and run the following example found in the forums :

Code: Select all

#include <iostream>
#include "dcmimage.h"

//application entry point
int main()
{
	DicomImage *image = new DicomImage("test.dcm");
	if (image != NULL)
	{
		if (image->getStatus() == EIS_Normal)
		{
			if (image->isMonochrome())
			{
				image->setMinMaxWindow();
				Uint8 *pixelData = (Uint8 *)(image->getOutputData(8 /* bits */));
				if (pixelData != NULL)
				{
					/* do something useful with the pixel data */
				}
			}
		}
		else
		{
			cerr << "Error: cannot load DICOM image (" << DicomImage::getString(image->getStatus()) << ")" << endl;
		}
	}
	delete image;
	std::cout<<"Hello DICOM..."<<std::endl;
	return 0;
The first problem I encountered was that the compiler couldn't find the dcmimage.h header file. I solved that by adding "include" path to the standard project include directories.

Then I was getting linker erros so I assumed the linker couldn't find the required libraries. To solve this I went to the project properties, I added the path to the libraries and then I added all the .lib files in the additional dependencies properties settings.

The result was that the initial linker errors were gone, however I am stuck with the following 5 linker errors:

1>------ Rebuild All started: Project: DCModifier, Configuration: Debug Win32 ------