Problems creating QT widgets together with DCMTK

All other questions regarding DCMTK

Moderator: Moderator Team

Spirit

Problems creating QT widgets together with DCMTK

#1 Post by Spirit »

Hello,

I am new here on the Forum hope to find some answers. First of all, I like the dcmtk toolkit very much!

My plan is to write some qt (see www.trolltech.com) widgets to embed them in there GUI designer. The idea is to make a environment for click and go medical viewers. This video demonstrates the environment of QT creating some HTML viewer: http://www.trolltech.com/video/index.html
Exchange in this video the HTML widget for a set of dcmtk-widgets for different images, slices, run's etc. and you get a nice environment to develop medical related software.

Some weeks ago I started coding and the first widget is almost ready. It can handle monochrome, color, frames.

To test the widget, I downloaded some dicom images from several sites.

I noticed however that not all images can be opened. Sometimes I got EIR_MissingAttribute and the image could not be opened.

To find the problem the library is built in debug mode. Next SetDebugLevel is used to see the library messages.

Currently I do not see any library messages occur. I do not understand that the messages do not occur. Is building in debug mode and setting the SetDebugLevel not enough?

Secondly I like to know what I should do if an image can not be opened. Is it a problem of the image or can dcmtk not handle it or is it a configuration problem etc.

Kind regards,

Spirit

Michael Onken
DCMTK Developer

#2 Post by Michael Onken »

Hi Spirit,

first of all: Using DCMTK and QT together should work well, we did some projects with this. In the current version of QT, some adaptions may be necessary, but it seems you managed all that, fine :)