Need advice concerning PACS development using DCMTK

All other questions regarding DCMTK

Moderator: Moderator Team

Abdallah Maouche

Need advice concerning PACS development using DCMTK

#1 Post by Abdallah Maouche »

Hello everyone,

First of all I would like to thank Jörg Riesmeier for directing me to this forum and Dr. Marco Eichelberg for the registration process.

I would like to ask for some advice concerning DCMTK since I am a beginner in DICOM related development and development in general (I just got hired for my first job). My main objective is to develop a PACS in C++ which I've been documenting about for the past 2 weeks and ended up settling for DCMTK. Currently I'm just playing around with the toolkits while exploring their codes and trying to write something similar, this is kinda helping me understand the underlying functions of the different modules (mostly dcmnet and dcmqrdb for now), but now I would like to start the PACS development and I would also like to integrate it with a scalable database like PostgreSql. According to what I've read in this forum, there's one post from 9 years ago which suggests to write an app based on DcmSCP class, I was wondering if this is still the best approach to start PACS development. The module dcmqrdb seems to be easier for what I've seen so far but I'm no expert so I might end up going back to the suggested method after some trials.

So does anyone have any advice/suggestions to how should start developing a PACS with a scalable SQL database support ?

Thanks for taking the time to read my post! :D

J. Riesmeier
DCMTK Developer

Re: Need advice concerning PACS development using DCMTK

#2 Post by J. Riesmeier »

Welcome to the DCMTK forum!

May I ask what the background of your question is? The development of a PACS can mean everything from a small and self-contained project to a very huge task.

Abdallah Maouche

#3 Post by Abdallah Maouche »