dcmj2pnm - Multiple Errors on Seemingly Good File

All other questions regarding DCMTK

Moderator: Moderator Team

OatsNHoney

dcmj2pnm - Multiple Errors on Seemingly Good File

#1 Post by OatsNHoney »

Hello all,

I am new to the software and not much of a programmer to begin with so please forgive any ignorance. Some background: my friend has a medical condition that required her to get a series of MRIs. She would like to use the images from the MRI for an art project. Unfortunately for her, the MRI files she was given by her provider were in a format she can't use (DICOM). As the "tech person", it is my job to figure out how to convert all these files to .PNG. Through research I found this toolkit. It seems perfect.

My issue: When I went to convert a single file with dcmj2pnm, I got a slew of errors. Posted below.

Code: Select all

C:\Users\me\OneDrive\Documents\Friend Images>dcmj2pnm -v -d -f Raw\MR000000 TEST.PNG
D: $dcmtk: dcmj2pnm v3.6.7 2022-04-22 $
D:
I: reading DICOM file: Raw\MR000000
D: DcmDataset::read() trying to detect transfer syntax of data set (because it is unknown)
D: DcmDataset::read() TransferSyntax="Little Endian Implicit"
W: DcmItem: Element (0000,0000) found twice in one data set or item, ignoring second entry
W: DcmItem: Element (0000,0000) found twice in one data set or item, ignoring second entry
E: DcmElement: Unknown Tag & Data (0004,00c2) larger (131072) than remaining bytes in file
W: DcmItem: Dataset not in ascending tag order, at element (0004,00c2)
F: I/O suspension or premature end of stream: reading file: Raw\MR000000
I found this post and ran dcmdump and the file seems to be intact? Does anyone know what I could be doing wrong?

Thank you,

Oats

J. Riesmeier
DCMTK Developer

Re: dcmj2pnm - Multiple Errors on Seemingly Good File

#2 Post by J. Riesmeier »

If the file Raw\MR000000 is a valid DICOM file, you should not call the tool with option -f (--read-dataset).