modifying storescp for research use

All other questions regarding DCMTK

Moderator: Moderator Team

jberrebi

modifying storescp for research use

#1 Post by jberrebi »

Hi,
I need to modify storescp for the needs of research teams. We are a brain imaging center having research teams as customers for our MR-scanner from Siemens. In a clinical site, operators belong to the clinics and the images are transferred to PACS. In our case, the operator belong to the research teams and we would like to make the transfer of data faster than through usb on the MR-scanner computer and safer by creating users and view and edit rights. So linux is the easy way to go.

I have done some heavy modifications on storescp this time by adding a "--sort-on-study-description" option. I have actually tried to add rather to modify.
I don't pretend this configuration would be universal and suit all research centers, but I have adapted the script to brain research and Siemens MRI scanners.
I am not a programmer so I expect to have done mistakes in my programing but I have tried to be as much inspired as possible by the sturcture you have made on the option --sort-on-patientname.
  1. One of the goals is that researchers only have access to data belonging to their research group. A research group is identified by a "Principal Investigator" a.k.a. "PI". The highest level of storage directories is then the PI's diectory.

Code: Select all

OFString           pidirectoryPathAndName; 
  2. A principal investigator can run different project. So a project will define the second level of directories:

OFString           projectdirectoryPathAndName; 
  3. Each project is constituted of many exams for which a participant, volonteer or patient is scanned.

OFString           examdirectoryPathAndName; 
  4. And I am using the variable "subdirectoryName" for each sequence that has been run or reconstructed in each exam.

OFString           subdirectoryName;