Compiling DCMTK for Ubuntu

Compilation and installation of DCMTK

Moderator: Moderator Team

bnoeafk

Compiling DCMTK for Ubuntu

#1 Post by bnoeafk »

Hi all,
I'm not a programmer however I'm a firm believer in giving back to worthwhile projects like DCMTK and so I'm seriously considering setting up a public PPA for DCMTK for Ubuntu users. I'm not sure how many users out there use Ubuntu as there certainly seems to be a lot of Windows users, but I guess we'll wait and see.

So, that all being said, I'm obviously missing a few things as I've tried compiling the latest version a number of times and consistently get errors.

I download the support libraries (those found in the FTP Support folder) and compile them in the following order:
  1. zlib
  2. tiff
  3. libpng
  4. libxml
  5. libiconv
  6. openssl
For each of these libraries I:
  1. extract the file
  2. enter the folder
  3. run ./configure (./config for openssl)
  4. run make
  5. run make test (openssl only)
  6. run make install
There's a few warnings when compiling some of these libraries but those warnings are about variables not being used etc so I don't think there's any issues with them. libiconv states to libtool: warning: remember to run 'libtool --finish /usr/local/lib' (which I do).

Then I attempt to compile DCMTK as follows
  1. extract the file
  2. obtain my gcc version (7)
  3. create a folder according to my gcc version and enter that folder
  4. run cmake ../dcmtk-3.6.4 -DBUILD_SHARED_LIB=ON
  5. make -j8
  6. make DESTDIR=../final install
I don't get past (iv.) as I get the following error:
used as include directory in directory /home/dave/dcmtkTemp/dcmtk-3.6.4/dcmpmap/include
JPEG_LIBRARY (ADVANCED)
linked by target "dcmimage" in directory /home/dave/dcmtkTemp/dcmtk-3.6.4/dcmimage/libsrc
-- Configuring incomplete, errors occurred!
See also "/home/dave/dcmtkTemp/dcmtk-gcc-7/CMakeFiles/CMakeOutput.log".
See also "/home/dave/dcmtkTemp/dcmtk-gcc-7/CMakeFiles/CMakeError.log".