DCMTK MacOS Installation Homebrew

Compilation and installation of DCMTK

Moderator: Moderator Team

jazibaskari

DCMTK MacOS Installation Homebrew

#1 Post by jazibaskari »

Hi! I'm new to C++ and DCMTK and I think I've completed the steps to install Homebrew and the DCMTK toolkit onto my Mac. I've attempted to run commands like dcmdump to read the header of my DICOM files in the terminal and it seems to be working. When I try this using the CodeBlocks IDE however, the compiler doesn't recognise the toolkit. I can't seem to find further instructions on how to start using DCMTK with my IDE (CodeBlocks) but I'm assuming I need to tell the IDE where the header files are. I'm not sure how I would go about finding the location of the header files or how to link the toolkit to my IDE to ensure I can read the tags in my DICOM header. There's not much documentation on how to read the tags in DICOM file using C++ either so any help would be appreciated. Thank you.

Michael Onken
DCMTK Developer

Re: DCMTK MacOS Installation Homebrew

#2 Post by Michael Onken »

Hi,

I don't know CodeBLlocks so I cannot help with that.

Here is a hit how you can include DCMTK into your CMake-based project using CMake's find_package mechanism.

General examples how to read and write DICOM files and how to access DICOM tags can be found in the dcmdata documentation (scroll down to code example).

Best regards,
Michael

jazibaskari

#3 Post by jazibaskari »

Thanks for your help but after reading the contents of the provided link I'm still not sure how to go about using the find_package mechanism to include DCMTK into my IDE. Could you perhaps explain the process? Thanks

Michael Onken
DCMTK Developer

#4 Post by Michael Onken »

Hi,

Maybe your IDE can directly load a project by opening the main CMakeLists.txt file?

Best regards,
Michael

Michael Onken
DCMTK Developer

#5 Post by Michael Onken »