First of all I'd like to thank for your work. The library has been really helpful in what I wanted to do, and despite my total naivety at the beginning I'm now close to finishing what I wanted to do.
There's one last bit of work left and that is to deal with the "virtual memory exhausted" problem. The error doesn't normally occur, it occurs for rare DICOM files, but I still want to prevent it from happening. I want to know if I do some memory management and dedicate some large chunk of memory to the application which does the task of pixel data modification using DCMTK, will this more or less deal with the problem of virtual memory exhaustion? Or is it something that is completely depending on DCMTK library and I cannot change anything in preventing the error from happening?
Sorry, if my question is not clear to you due to my poor technical language skills. Thank you for your help.
Question regarding "Virtual Memory exhausted" error?
Moderator: Moderator Team
-
- Posts: 33
- Joined: Fri, 2013-01-11, 15:37
-
- DCMTK Developer
- Posts: 2541
- Joined: Tue, 2011-05-03, 14:38
- Location: Oldenburg, Germany
- Contact:
Re: Question regarding "Virtual Memory exhausted" error?
Which classes/interfaces of the DCMTK are you using? Are the DICOM images compressed? Did you already check the Howtos on "Images and GSPS"?
-
- Posts: 33
- Joined: Fri, 2013-01-11, 15:37
Re: Question regarding "Virtual Memory exhausted" error?
Before loading the files, I'm registering the decoders usingJ. Riesmeier wrote:Which classes/interfaces of the DCMTK are you using?
Code: Select all
DJDecoderRegistration::registerCodecs()
For loading the file I'm using
Code: Select all
DcmFileformat
Code: Select all
DcmDataset
Code: Select all
DCM_PixelData
Code: Select all
DcmElement
I register the encoder using
Code: Select all
DJEncoderRegistration::registerCodecs()
Code: Select all
pWriteYBR422
The Virtual Memory Exhaustion error occurs when I try to use the method
Code: Select all
putAndInsertUint8Array()
Yes, the error occurs when the DICOM images are compressed, otherwise they work fine.J. Riesmeier wrote:Are the DICOM images compressed?
Yes, I have checked the documentations thoroughly, I've followed all the previous questions and how-to's to make progress that I made until now.J. Riesmeier wrote:Did you already check the Howtos on "Images and GSPS"?
Who is online
Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], Google [Bot] and 1 guest