imagectn doubt

All other questions regarding DCMTK

Moderator: Moderator Team

Brazillian

imagectn doubt

#1 Post by Brazillian »

Hello,
I am a Brazilian Computer Science undergraduate Student and I have a doubt in relation to DCMTK library. I am studying client-server applications at the University and I chosen the DCMTK based in the utility that it has in the health-care area. I like to study real and useful systems. This way I am using the imagectn application for to listen image DICOM. But, my doubt is: How to assure that the image arrived(in the server listener) without corruption ? My class questioned me about the persistency of the image. If I to create a program that get the image for visualization how I know that choosen image do not be corrupted by unfinished write process ?

Sorry for the mistakes in the english language. But, please, help-me !

Daniel

Marco Eichelberg
OFFIS DICOM Team
OFFIS DICOM Team

#2 Post by Marco Eichelberg »

The DICOM network protocol implements a minimal level of error checking. First of all, DICOM is an application level protocol on top of TCP, and TCP implements a reliable transport channel (re-transmission of lost packets, checksums etc). Furthermore, imagectn performs a (very basic) check whether the incoming image is readable and contains at least a SOP class UID and SOP instance UID, clearly marking it as a DICOM image, before the receipt is accepted. If something goes wrong during receipt (transport connection fails, image is "garbage" and cannot be read), imagectn will delete the file, will not register it in the database (index.dat file) and will report an error code back to the sender in the C-STORE-RSP message (if the communication channel is still open, of course). This means that everything that ends up being on the harddisk and registered in the database is something that was successfully sent by a DICOM system, is complete and has DICOM encoding.

Brazillian

problem when copying images